About Us

Current Committee Irish Endocrine Society 2024

Current Committee 2024


List of Presidents Irish Endocrine Society

1976 DAD Montgomery
1978 DK O’Donovan
1980 MI Drury
1982 DJ O’Sullivan
1984 J Weaver
1986 J Devlin
1988 DR Hadden
1990 GM Tomkin
1992 AB Atkinson
1994 TJ Mc Kenna
1996 JB Ferriss
1998 JR Hayes
2000 J O’Donnell
2002 PPA Smyth
2004 B Sheridan
2006 PM Bell
2008 RGR Firth
2010 DJ O’Halloran
2012 T O’Brien
2015 F O’Harte
2018 BT Kinsley
2021 F Dunne (current)

Current Committee Irish Endocrine Society (after AGM 2023)

President:  Professor Fidelma Dunne

Secretary:  Dr Maeve Durkan (team ends November 2026)

Treasurer: Dr Mark Hannon

Communication Officer: Dr Pyeh Kyithar

Basic Science: Professor Graham Lee (term ends November 2027)

Paediatrics:  Professor Edna Roche (term ends November 2024), Dr Orla Neylon (term ends 2024)

Leinster: Dr Pyeh Kyithar; Lead Organiser 49th Annual Meeting (term ends November 2025)

Ulster: Dr Helen Wallace; Lead Organiser Joint SfE-48th IES Annual Meeting (term ends November 2025)

Connacht: Dr Siobhan Bacon, Lead Organiser 47th Annual Meeting (term ends November 2024)

Munster: Dr Mark Hannon, Lead Organiser 50th Annual Meeting  (term ends November 2026)

Subgroups  Dr Orla Neylon  (Secretary Diabetes Subgroup nominally representing all subgroups on main committee)

If you wish to get involved in any of the activities of the Irish Endocrine Society, please contact any committee member.

Subgroup Chairpersons

  • Diabetes             Dr Antoinette Tuthill
  • Endocrinology   Professor Mark Sherlock
  • Obesity               Professor Francis Finucane

Constitution of Irish Endocrine Society- Adopted November 1977 – please follow link https://irishendocrinesociety.com/?page_id=5310&preview=true

1.  The Society shall be known as the Irish Endocrine Society

2.  The Committee shall consist of five members – Chairman, Secretary/Treasurer and three members committee members.

3.  The chairman shall be elected at the Annual General Meeting and the committee members shall be elected biennially

4.  Membership is open to all physicians; surgeons and gynaecologists, scientists and laboratory technologists having a significant interest in Diabetes and Endocrinology

5.  Membership will be ratified at the Annual General Meeting.

6.  The Society aims to promoting the development of Endocrinology by educating

and interchange of scientific material.

7.  There shall be annual subscriptions of £2.00

8.  Meetings of the Society will be held at least annually, rotating between Dublin, Cork, and Belfast and any other place decided by the Committee

9.  The meetings of the Society may be conjoint meetings with other Medical

Amendments to the Constitution (2013)

In 1989 the AGM proposed that allied health professionals including diabetes nurses and dieticians should be eligible for membership.

The Committee currently comprises 8 members – President (Chair), Secretary/Treasurer, representatives from each of the four provinces; a Diabetes Section representative, and a Basic Science representative. The annual meeting rotation also includes Galway.

The current annual membership fee for the Irish Endocrine Society is 150 euro for Consultants; 100 euro for SpRs, Registrars, NCHDs, Dietitians, Nurses, Scientists and retired Members of the Society; 30 euro for PhD and MD students and membership is free for medical students.

To attend the IES Annual Study Day in February there is a 60 euro registration fee for members and a 100 euro registration fee for non-members.