IES Annual Conference


The IES AGM will be held in the Clayton Hotel, Silver Springs, Cork on the 19th and 20th of October 2018

Local Organiser is Doctor Mary Jane Brassill

Hadden Lecture will be delivered by Professor Bernard Zinman, Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto, Canada

McKenna Lecture will be delivered by Dr Paula O’Shea, UCHG, Galway

IES Lifetime Achievement Award to be presented to Professor B Ferriss

Closing date for abstracts is the 31st of May 2018.

IES Abstract Programme 2018


Past IES Conferences 

Irish Endocrine Society Annual/Hadden Lecturers 

Year Novo Lecture
(named in 2016 as the Hadden lecture)
Nordisk Lecture
(named in 2016 as the McKenna Lecture)
1976 D.K.Donovan
1977 S. Bloom
1978 J.H.S. Robertson
1979 A.G. Cudworth
1980 D.A.D. Montgomery
1981 Peter Watkins
1982 G. Joplin
1983 D.R. London
1984 A.X. Bertagna
1985 Malcolm Nattrass Laurence Kennedy
1986 Brian Frier JB Ferriss
1987 Maurice Scanlon TJ McKenna
1988 D.A. Heath AB Atkinson
1989 J. Ward GH Tomkin
1990 R. Volpe KD Buchanan
1991 Michael Besser PPA Smyth
1992 R.V. Ragontte DH Hadden
1993 Bruce Weintraub David Powell
1994 Oscar Croffard Patrick Bell
1995 Robert Lindsay Brian Sheridan
1996 C.R.W. Edwards Rosemary Freaney
1997 Stephanie Amiel David McCance
1998 Robert Turner Randle Hayes
1999 Ian Hay K Cunningham
2000 Stephen O’Rahilly Michael Cullen
2001 Andre Lacroix Daphne Owens
2002 J. Tuomilehto CJ Thompson
2003 Tony Weetman John Nolan
2004 R.V. Thakker RGR Firth
2005 P.M. Stewart FPM O’Harte
2006 Kevin Docherty CH Walsh
2007 Lynette Neiman Timothy O’Brien
2008 Ken Ho Donal O’Shea
2009 Daniel J. Drucker Steven Hunter
2010 Joseph G. Verbalis James Gibney
2011 Thomas A. Buchanan Maria Byrne
2012 Beverly M.K. Biller Fidelma Dunne
2013 Mark McCarthy Diarmuid Smith
2014 Karel Pacak Sean F Dinneen
2015 European Society of Endocrinology meeting, Dublin
HADDEN Lecture McKenna Lecture
2016 David M. Nathan Amar Agha
2017 Marta Korbonits Aine McKillop

IES Lifetime Achievement Award

  • 2012 Professor David Hadden
  • 2013 Professor TJ McKenna
  • 2014 Professor GH Tomkin
  • 2016 Professor AB Atkinson
  • 2017 Professor J Devlin

Irish Endocrine Society McKenna Lecture

  • 2013 – Professor Mark McCarthy
  • 2008 – Professor Donal O’Shea
  • 2007 – Professor Timothy O’Brien
  • 2004 – Professor Finbarr PM O’Harte
  • 2003 – Professor Richard Firth